The trustees have a responsibility to ensure we are not threatened by wrong financial decisions, do not break the law, and that the work being done is for the benefit of our members - Hallam students.

Your five student officers

Our Board of Trustees consists of:

  • President
  • 3 College Officers
  • International Students' Officer
  • Wellbeing, Sport and Physical Activity Officer
  • 4 External Trustees
  • 4 Student Trustees

Our democratic structure

Read Articles of Governance

SHU rules and regulations

Membership of the Students' Union

The University has prepared a statement concerning membership of the Students' Union.

Download the statement (PDF, 53.9KB)


Students' Union Code of Practice

A Code of Practice has been published in accordance with the requirements of s22(3) of the Education Act 1994 (the Act). The Act requires the University and Sheffield Hallam University Students' Union (the Union) to comply with a number of measures relating to the operation of the Union, in particular relating to its: constitution; membership; elections; sabbatical officers; finances; affiliations; complaints; and notification requirements.

Download the Students' Union Code of Practice (PDF, 103.5KB)