x

Department Representatives

Department Reps

It's not just your course that you can give feedback on. We want to make sure students have reps who can listen to and support them at all levels, so alongside the volunteer Course Reps, we also have student staff who are Department Reps. They listen to concerns from your Course Reps and raise any issues that are wider-spread in higher level meetings, to ensure staff can change things that affect as many students as possible. They work for us, your Students' Union, so we make sure they know everything they need to know to support you every year.

Find your Department Rep in the following list or by using our Find My Rep! tool.

Business Technology and Engineering

Computing Andrei Bratu A.Bratu@shu.ac.uk
Engineering and Maths Harry Saxton Harry.Saxton@shu.ac.uk
Finance, Accounting and Business Systems Temi Ojediran T.Ojediran@shu.ac.uk
Management Russell Bagot R.Bagot@shu.ac.uk
Service Sector Management Shannon Parkes Shannon.Parkes@shu.ac.uk

Health, Wellbeing and Life Sciences

Allied Health Professions Raymond Amoako R.Amoako@shu.ac.uk
Biosciences and Chemistry Sara Raza S.Raza@shu.ac.uk
Nursing and Midwifery Amy Ilici A.Ilici@shu.ac.uk
Social Care, Social Work and Community Studies Emma Stafford E.Stafford@shu.ac.uk
Academy of Sport and Physical Activity Lauren Turrell Lauren.Turrell@shu.ac.uk

Social Sciences and Arts

Art and Design Chelsea Bellham C.M.Bellham@shu.ac.uk
Natural and Built Environment Niamh Joliffe N.Jolliffe@shu.ac.uk
Humanities Alice Iveson A.M.Iveson@shu.ac.uk
Institute of Education VACANT -
Law and Criminology Sophie Oswick S.Oswick@shu.ac.uk
Media, Arts and Communications Brandon Gray Brandon.Gray@shu.ac.uk
Psychology, Sociology and Politics Tolulope Adesida-Ehebha T.E.Adesida-Ehebha@shu.ac.uk

FAQs

What are Departments?

At SHU, there are three colleges. Each of these colleges is split into different departments, which are essentially groups of courses based on subject areas.

Health, Wellbeing and Life Sciences

  • Allied Health Professions
  • Biosciences & Chemistry
  • Nursing & Midwifery
  • Sport and Physical Activity
  • Social Work & Social Care & Community Studies

Social Sciences and Arts

  • Art & Design
  • Media, Arts & Communication
  • Humanities
  • Law & Criminology
  • Natural & Built Environment
  • Institute of Education
  • Psychology, Sociology & Politics

Business, Technology and Engineering

  • Service Sector Management
  • Computing
  • Engineering & Maths
  • Finance, Accounting & Business Systems
  • Management

What do Department Reps do?

Department Reps are key to making sure the voices of all students are heard at a higher level, beyond your course specifically. We know that sometimes problems come up for students that are more widely spread, and we want to make sure that your opinions are heard, and changes are made, no matter what the concern is. Department Reps help with this and are paid students dedicated to provide this support.

How do you become a Department Rep?

Department reps are recruited each year, and are appointed by the College Officers, Representation team, and where possible a panelist from your Department, usually a Student Experience Lead.

Are you interested in other activities?

Your Students' Union is a democratic organisation that empowers you to fight for change on campus and seek support from elected representatives who have got your back. You can find out more about other ways to get involved in campaigning, elections, policy, who your Officers are and more here.

Want to be a Department Rep?

Please make sure you are logged into the website to view this page!

Applications for Department Reps happen in Spring - March-April time, so check back here for more information!