Union Council is Hallam Students' Union's highest decision-making body. Its members are Hallam students who have been elected in campus-wide elections to represent particular issues or groups, or just the general student population.

Council Agenda

Full Agenda for 19/05/2020 meeting.
Minutes from the 19/05/2020 meetings.
Listen to the audio recording of the last meeting.

The policies discussed at the meeting were:

If you have feedback or opinions on any of the above proposed policies, you can contact electedrepsupport@shu.ac.uk with your comments. Let us know you would like your comments forwarded on to any specific reps/officers (see list below) - if not they will be provided to the Council as a whole.

All students are welcome to attend Union Council sessions, though we ask that you let us know in advance so we can ensure the venue will be large enough!

Council Members 2019/20

 Union Council Chair: Abubakar Mohammed  Postgraduate Rep: Rishav Chatterjee
 President: Sheriff Muhammed  Part-Time Students' Rep: Oluwaseun Oluwafemi
 Activities Officer: Faizan Sajid  Mature Students' Rep: Kaz Gipson
 Education Officer: Andrew Adegbola  Open Space Rep: Praise Ishola
 Welfare & Community Officer: Lauren Kaye  Open Space Rep: Cody Croxall
 BME Students' Rep: Temi Labinjo  Open Space Rep: Robert Curtis
 Disabled Students' Rep: Abbie Smyth  Open Space Rep: Kingsley Egbo
 LGBT+ Students' Rep: Ben Roberts  Open Space Rep: Inam Khan
 Women's Rep: Jade Swift  Open Space Rep: Kaitlyn McGuinness-Roskruge
 Interntional Students' Rep: Theo Nwankwo  Your Union Zone Chair: Vacant
 HWB Faculty Rep: Charlotte Ellender  Your Union Zone Vice Chair: Vacant
 STA Faculty Rep: Jennifer Chisom  Education Zone Chair: Kelly Dixon
 SSH Faculty Rep: Laith Jaafar  Education Zone Vice-Chair: Daniel Enoch
 SBS Faculty Rep: Jingze Liu  Your Community Zone Chair: Vacant


Frequently Asked Questions

Who represents me on Union Council?

Every student is represented by the five full-time officers, a representative for their academic faculty, and the six open space representatives. If you belong to one or more student demographics or groups, you may also have particular representation for these. If you have an issue or concern, it's best to address it to the representative/s who are most closely linked to the area concerned.

What power does Council have?

Union Council is the highest decision-making body at the Students' Union, with power to decide our stance on political issues, what projects we should focus our time and resources on, and how we should run as an organisation. If you want to make change, Union Council is the best place to bring your ideas - you can send them to a Council member, or to electedrepsupport@shu.ac.uk and we'll advise you on what to do next.

How could I become a Council member?

All Council members are elected in campus elections. The next one will take place in Autumn 2019, when 12 seats on Council will be elected. These include the six open space positions (which any student can stand for), and representatives for Postgraduates (Taught), Postgraduates (Research), Student Parents and Carers, Disabled Students, Part-Time Students, Trans Students, and SSH Faculty students. If you're interested in running for one of these roles and being on Council next academic year, register your interest here and we'll be in touch with more information.

Can I complain about or change a Council decision?

Policies passed by Council cannot be changed until the next academic year - so if there's something you're unhappy with, consider taking part in the Autumn elections and you could work to change it next year! (Or contact next year's representatives to request the change to be made). If you have a complaint or concern about any other aspect of Council or its members decisions, let us know and we'll advise you of your options.